Council to recognize exceptional art teachers

YOUNGSTOWN -- The public is invited to attend when the Arts Council of Youngstown and Mahoning County presents its 14th annual Outstanding Arts Teacher Awards.
They'll be presented during a dinner event that begins at 5:30 p.m. Tuesday at Stambaugh Auditorium.
This year the Arts Council received eight nominations for the two awards, one in art and one in music. The nominees are:
UArt: Petra Barnhouse, Taft Elementary, Youngstown; Charlene Galose, Glenwood Middle School, Boardman; Diane Buchanan Leonard, Hilltop Elementary and C.H. Campbell, Canfield.
UMusic: Ken Alexander, Austintown Middle School; Alan Howenstine, West Branch Middle School; Denise Simon, Taft Elementary, Youngstown; Barbara Singler, St. Christine School, Youngstown; and Kay Williams, Austintown Fitch High School.
Each award winner receives $100 from the Arts Council to be used for their classroom.
The Stambaugh Youth band will perform.
The cost is $25 per person. The public is invited. Reservations may be made by calling (330) 746-2787.