ON TOUR This week's pro golf events

PGA TOURAT & amp;T Pebble Beach National Pro-AmPebble Beach, Calif.
Schedule: Thursday-SundayCourses: Pebble Beach Golf Links (6,816 yards, par 72), Spyglass Hill Golf Course (6,862 yards, par 72) and Poppy Hills Golf Course (6,833 yards, par 72)Purse: $5.3 million. Winner's share: $954,000Television: USA (Thursday-Friday, 3-6 p.m.) and CBS (Saturday, 3-6 p.m.; Sunday, 3-6:30 p.m.)Last year: Fiji's Vijay Singh won the first of his nine 2004 tour titles, beating Jeff Maggert by three strokes. Singh won the Sony Open in Hawaii last month.Notes: Mickelson, the 1998 winner, is making his fourth consecutive start after skipping the first two events in Hawaii. ... Tiger Woods, the 2000 Pro-Am and U.S. Open winner at Pebble Beach, is skipping the tournament for the third consecutive year. ... Mark O'Meara won the 1997 event for his record fifth title, shooting four 67s for a tournament-record 268 total. He also won the 1979 California State Amateur at Pebble Beach. ... Matt Gogel won the 2002 tournament for his first tour title, two years after losing a seven-stroke lead to Woods in the final seven holes. ... Davis Love III won in 2001 and 2003. ... European Ryder Cup players Darren Clarke and Lee Westwood are in the field. ... The final round will be played at Pebble Beach. ... The Nissan Open is next week at Riviera in Los Angeles. The 64-man Match Play Championship is the following week at La Costa in Carlsbad, opposite the Chrysler Classic of Tucson.
Women's World Cup of GolfGeorge, South Africa
Schedule: Friday-SundayCourse: Fancourt Hotel and Country Club Estate, The Links (6,424 yards, par 73)Purse: $1 million. Winners' shares: $100,000 per playerTelevision: The Golf Channel (Thursday-Sunday, 1:30-4 p.m., 9-11:30 p.m.)Format: Two-player teams representing 20 countries. Friday, best ball; Saturday, alternate shot; Sunday, stroke play.Top teams: Sweden, Carin Koch and Sophie Gustafson; United States, Meg Mallon and Beth Daniel; Australia, Karrie Webb and Rachel Hetherington; Canada, Lorie Kane and Dawn Coe-Jones; England: Laura Davies and Karen Stupples; Scotland, Catriona Matthew and Janice Moodie; Mexico, Lorena Ochoa and Alejandra Martin Del Campo; Philippines, Jennifer Rosales and Dorothy Delasin; and South Korea, Jeong Jang and Bo Bae Song.Notes: Webb and Hetherington won the 2000 World Cup, then an unofficial LPGA Tour event, in Malaysia. ... Daniel and Mallon have combined for 51 LPGA Tour victories. ... The 2003 Presidents Cup was played on The Links course. ... The tour is off next week. Michelle Wie will make her first LPGA Tour start of the year Feb. 24-26 in the SBS Open at Turtle Bay in Hawaii, the first full-field event of the year.
Schedule: Thursday-SundayCourse: Gulf Harbour Country Club (6,978 yards, par 72)Purse: $1,065,000. Winner's share: $191,700Television: The Golf Channel (Thursday-Sunday, 9 a.m.-noon)Last year: Australia's Terry Price won at The Grange, beating New Zealand amateur Brad Heaven by a stroke.Notes: The European tour is co-sanctioning the event for the first time. ... Craig Parry, the 2002 winner at Paraparaumu, tops the field along with Price, Caltex Masters winner Nick Dougherty and 1999 British Open champion Paul Lawrie. Past champions Michael Campbell, Mahal Pearce, Michael Lane, Peter Senior and Lucas Parsons also are entered. ... Robert Trent Jones Jr. designed the Gulf Harbour course. ... The European tour will team with the Asian circuit next week for the Malaysian Open. The Australasian tour will join the Nationwide Tour the next two weeks for the Jacob's Creek Open in Adelaide, Australia, and the New Zealand PGA in Christchurch.
Associated Press
Copyright 2005 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.