ON TRACK | This weekend's events

Subway 400
Schedule: Today, qualifying (Speed Channel, 3:10 p.m.); Sunday, race (FOX, 1 p.m.).
Track: North Carolina Speedway, Rockingham (tri-oval, 1.017 miles, 22 degrees banking in turns 1-2, 25 degrees in turns 3-4).
Race distance: 400 miles, 393 laps.
Last race: Dale Earnhardt Jr. barreled past Tony Stewart and won the Daytona 500 on the same track that claimed his father's life three years ago. The win came six years to the day that Dale Earnhardt Sr. won his first -- and only -- Daytona 500 on his 20th try.
Last year: Dale Jarrett outlasted Kurt Busch in a thrilling back-and-forth battle for the lead and won the Subway 400. Busch led 150 laps before Jarrett finally passed him with five laps to go for his 31st career victory.
Fast facts: Earnhardt Jr. does not have a top-10 finish in eight career starts at Rockingham. ... Jimmie Johnson has been among the top-10 in the standings for 70 straight weeks, tops for active drivers. Johnson and Matt Kenseth were the only Nextel Cup drivers to record a top-10 finish in both Rockingham races last season. ... Only Richard Petty and Jeff Gordon went on to win at Rockingham after taking the Daytona 500. ... Mark Martin earned his 30th Winston Cup victory in the 1999 race.
Goody's Headache Powder 200
Schedule: Today, qualifying (Speed Channel, 1:30 p.m.); Saturday, race (FX, 1 p.m.).
Track: North Carolina Speedway, Rockingham (tri-oval, 1.017 miles, 22 degrees banking in turns 1-2, 25 degrees in turns 3-4).
Race distance: 200 miles, 197 laps.
Last race: Daytona 500 champion Dale Earnhardt Jr. found enough energy to win the delayed Hershey's Kisses 300. The race was postponed Saturday by rain after just 31 of 120 laps.
Last year: Jamie McMurray dominated the rain-delayed Rockingham 200, leading all but five of the 197 laps and beating pole-sitter David Green to the checkered flag by almost 20 car lengths.
Fast facts: McMurray will be going for his fourth straight Busch win at Rockingham. Mark Martin is the only other driver to do it there after sweeping both races in 1996 and 1997. ... Nextel Cup drivers swept the top five spots last weekend, with Johnny Sauter, Robby Gordon, Kevin Harvick and Matt Kenseth finishing behind Earnhardt Jr.. ... During last year's race, Shane Hmiel and Mike Wallace had a verbal confrontation in the infield and had to be separated following an accident.
Next race: Sam's Town 300, March 6, Las Vegas
K & amp;N Filters Winternationals
Schedule: Today, qualifying, 5:30 p.m.; Saturday, qualifying, 2:30 p.m. (ESPN2, 10 p.m., tape); Sunday, eliminations, 2 p.m. (ESPN2, 10 p.m., tape).
Track: Pomona (Calif.) Raceway.
Last year: Top Fuel driver Larry Dixon became the first repeat winner at the Winternationals, while Tony Pedregon (Funny Car) and Warren Johnson (Pro Stock) also won at the season-opening event.
Fast facts: Dixon will be trying to become the second driver and first since Joe Amato (1990-92) to win three straight Top Fuel championships. ... Greg Anderson wrapped up his circuit-record 12th Pro Stock title at Pomona on Nov. 9, edging Kurt Johnson by .014 seconds. ... Del Worsham is expected to compete in his 250th Funny Car event this weekend. ... Pomona Raceway is the oldest NHRA track and has hosted the season-opening event every year since 1961.
Next race: Checker Schuck's Kragen Nationals, March 5, Phoenix
-- Associated Press