DELTA SIGMA THETA Alumnae chapter to mark its 50th year

YOUNGSTOWN -- The Youngstown Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. will mark its golden anniversary with a celebration from 6 to 11 p.m. Sept. 28 at Our Lady of Mount Carmel Hall, 343 Via Mount Carmel.
Attire for the event is semiformal, and the cost is $25 per person. Tickets may be purchased from chapter members or by calling (330) 746-3569. Proceeds will benefit the organization's scholarship fund.
Co-chairmen of the event are Marcia Ellis and Lorene T. Hill, and on the committee are Cathy Harvey, program and souvenir book chairman; Nikki Davis, publicity and displays; Cynthia Moore, tickets; Natalie Grant, program chairman; Catherine Allison, hospitality; and Nancy Murray, decorations. Mary Jo Truman serves as chapter president.
The group: The chapter, originally known as Delta Lambda, was established May 19, 1951, in Youngstown by seven women to promote the ideals of sisterhood, scholarship and service. Its membership has grown to over 110 from the Youngstown, Warren and New Castle, Pa., areas.