VALLEY ELECTIONS Many file for local races

Former Mahoning County Commissioner David Engler is running for an unexpired seat on the county's Educational Service Center board.
YOUNGSTOWN -- Although 10 candidates will fight it out Nov. 6 for three, four-year terms on the Youngstown Board of Education, the idea of running for a two-year seat on the body attracted no interest.
Marilyn Montes Gonzalez, who holds the unexpired board seat through the end of this year, is running for a full four-year term along with fellow board members Lock P. Beachum Sr. and John Maluso.
Others filing to run for school board include Joseph F. Rafidi, a former board member from the 1970s; Michael G. Clarett, who unsuccessfully ran in 1999 as a write-in candidate, as well as Neil Buzzacco, Jacqueline Taylor, Oliver Weaver, Robert C. Korchnak and Salina Covington.
Because no one filed for the unexpired two-year term, whoever gets the most write-in votes during the Nov. 6 general election will get the seat, board of elections officials said.
Deadline to file: Candidates in nonpartisan elections such as school boards and township boards of trustees had until Thursday to file nominating petitions. Boards of elections have until Aug. 30 to certify the validity of the petitions.
While the Youngstown school board unexpired term attracted no interest, two other unexpired seats garnered attention.
James E. "Ted" Roberts is running for the remainder of a two-year unexpired seat he holds on the Mahoning County Educational Service Center board. His opponent is David Engler, who is making his first run for elected office since his 1999 resignation as a Mahoning County commissioner.
Six people filed petitions to run for a two-year unexpired Austintown Township trustee's seat.
Also, two 2000 county commissioner candidates are among six people running for a pair of Boardman Township trustees seats. Samuel M. Moffie and Kathy M. Miller are running against incumbents Thomas P. Costello and John C. Cox as well as Jason A. Vantell and Paul E. Shovlin.
Trumbull County: In Trumbull County, incumbents are being challenged in noteworthy races.
A dispute surrounding the Liberty Police Department that caused the chief to resign has 10people running for two trustee slots.
Incumbent Patricia Metzinger has decided not to seek re-election, while trustee Jack Simon is seeking another term.
Others in the race are Robert DiFrangia, former township fire chief; Gary Litch and Daniel Novello, former trustees; and Michael Marsco, a member of the Liberty Board of Education.
In Girard, a school board incumbent has decided not to seek re-election.
A move has been initiated to oust the entire school board as some residents don't like the way the board has handled health issues at Girard Intermediate School and want Prospect Elementary School to not open Tuesday because of similar concerns.
Veteran incumbent Stephanie Frankford isn't seeking a new term.
Seeking posts: Among those vying for the two vacancies are incumbent Rosemary E. Schmitt; Thomas Grumley, the city's 4th Ward councilman until the end of the year; David Hunkus, whose wife, Holly, is vice president of the Girard Concerned Citizens; and Mark Zuppo, director of city recreation and a former city councilman.
In Lordstown, two-term incumbent school board member Roxanna Holton didn't file for a third term. Incumbents Scott Thomas and Timothy Rech are both seeking to retain their posts. Rech was appointed last year when another board member resigned. They are being challenged by Cheryl Kistler, Mark R. McGrail and Beth Krempasky.
Gary Koch, who was appointed last month to fill the vacancy created by another member's resignation, is hoping to retain his seat but is being challenged by village Mayor Arno A. Hill. Hill, along with McGrail and Krempasky, sought the post to which Koch was appointed.
Columbiana County: Two notable races in Columbiana County are for the Salem school board and Perry Township trustees.
School board member Jim Newman is not seeking re-election to that post and is instead running for Perry Township trustee.
Newman will be vying with trustee incumbents Jerry Wolford and Larry Parker for two open seats. Newcomer Michael Lesch also is in the race.
Seeking election to the Salem school board is Atty. Geoffrey Goll, who serves on the city utilities commission, an appointed post.
William Thorne, school board president, is running again. Also running are newcomers Cindy Rottenborn and Kathryn Gano.
XContributors: Vindicator politics writer David Skolnick, Tim Yovich of the Vindicator's Trumbull staff and Norman Leigh of the Salem Bureau.

More like this from