Vindicator Logo

Sorority to host ‘Divas of Distinction Gala’

Sunday, August 26, 2018

Staff report


The members of the Youngstown Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. will host the Divas of Distinction Gala on Sept. 21 at Mr. Anthony’s Banquet Center, 7440 South Ave. Social hour will begin at 6 p.m. with dinner to follow at 7. Donation is $45 per person and semi-formal attire is requested. There will be a cash bar, an auction and musical entertainment by the Michael Austin Project.

Proceeds from the event will benefit the Mary McLeod Bethune Scholarship Fund, voter education and registration, health and financial training and mentoring of young people.

Delta Sigma Theta’s Divas of Distinction honors individuals who have attained significant milestones or made noteworthy contributions in the Mahoning Valley and neighboring communities. The three women to be honored are Judge Carla J. Baldwin, Dr. Cryshana A. Jackson-Leftwich and Trinette Simon.

Members of the sorority continue to dedicate themselves to five points: economic development, international awareness, physical and mental health and political awareness. Delta members have served the public worldwide for 105 years.

Elected officers for the coming year are Susan Moorer, president; Marla Mitchell, first vice president; Crystal Davis, second vice president; Angela Sanders, recording secretary; Chantelle Hallman, corresponding secretary; Dawn Powell, treasurer; Teresa Rice, financial secretary; Michelle Dotson, parliamentarian; and Tiffany Hough, chaplain. Committee chairwomen for the event are Cheryl C. Perez and Moorer.

To purchase tickets, call any member of the local Delta chapter; visit the DST website; or call Moorer at 330-509-4629 or Perez at 216-407-8737.