Vindicator Logo

AWARDS Yo-Mah-O names member, executive of the year

Monday, April 28, 2003

The two were recognized at a banquet April 23.
BOARDMAN -- Members of Yo-Mah-O Chapter, International Association of Administrative Professionals, held their annual Administrative Professionals Day and Executive Night banquet April 23 at the Holiday Inn.
Gordon L. Ellis, chief of police for Austintown Township, was honored as the Executive of the Year for 2003. He was nominated by his administrative assistant, Pat Vallas, and was presented the award by Joan Battagline, chairwoman of the event's committee.
Ellis holds a bachelor's degree in history and sociology from the University of the State of New York and a master's in education from Muskingum College in New Concord. He is a graduate of numerous law enforcement education programs, including the FBI National Academy and the Police Executive Leadership College.
He is a certified law enforcement instructor and previously served as a deputy sheriff in Hamilton County, a patrol officer and sergeant for the city of Lebanon, and chief of police for the city of Heath.
He also graduated from several military courses and was recently appointed as lieutenant colonel of the National Guard 1st Battalion, 148th Infantry Unit.
He is a member of the Ohio Association of Chiefs of Police and Mahoning Valley Chiefs of Police, is a Certified Law Enforcement Executive and is a field assessment team leader for the Commission on Accreditations for Law Enforcement Agencies Inc.
He is married and is the father of four children.
Member of the year
Recipient of the Member of the Year award was Christine J. Simone, the chapter's president-elect. She is an 18-year employee of Melmor Associates Inc. in Niles, where she holds the position of office manager. Her award was presented by Melissa Ferraro.
Simone, who attended Youngstown State University, is a certified professional secretary-certified administrative professional. She has been a chapter member since 1999 and has served as corresponding secretary as well as chairwoman of several committees. She also serves as the Ohio Division Certification Committee chairwoman. She will be installed as president of the chapter in June.